Tags

, , , , ,

I can’t believe it’s been 3 weeks since I had surgery! In some ways it seems like it went so fast. But then there are times I think, only 3 weeks?? In any case, I’m doing really well! Much better than I ever expected. I’m feeling great, food is going down fine and I’m back to the level of activity I was at prior to surgery. I’m just starting to transition from purees to soft foods and so far its going well…everything I’ve tried has gone down ok, but my stomach is definitely much more “vocal” while I’m eating than it has been, ha!

I must thank each and every one of you who took a minute to talk me off the ledge and comment on my last post. This weight loss crap is no joke and I do NOT want to turn into the person who obsesses over every single ounce gained or lost. I need to be able to live my life apart from the scale and I’m working towards that! The scale seems to be moving again, which I am thanking God for…and as soon as I get home from work tonight I’m going to move it to another location where it won’t be as convenient for me to weigh in daily. I’m focusing on my food a little more and I’m going to try and be a little more active this week…I’ve definitely been slacking a little with the exercise! I bought new sneakers over the weekend and I’m actually excited to take them out for a walk!

This weekend I did my first 5k in several years and my first walk of that distance since surgery. I was dreading it a tiny bit because I didn’t really prepare for it, but it actually was great! My surgery center sponsored it, so everyone there was a pre or post-op bariatric patient, so it was definitely low stress for me because I didn’t feel like a whale and I knew everyone else there was probably feeling the same way I was. My goal was to finish in an hour…my final time? 56 minutes! I was thrilled with that and it makes me want to beat that time in the worst way now! I also want to start trying to mix up some jogging with my walking. I’d prefer to not do it at the gym and the weather will finally be nice enough this week to get outside. I think in the next month or two I’m going to start Couch25K and see how that goes!

Week 3 stats:

Starting Weight (1/6/16): 428
Surgery Weight (4/18/16): 389.6
Current Weight (5/9/16): 370.2

Total Lost: 57.8 lbs
Total Lost since surgery: 19.4 lbs